INNSBRUCK: Some Awe

.   .   .

Turns out the elder brother does know best… well, if they’ve been there before! Innsbruck is certainly up there as one of my favourites, though i think a 1/2 night stay is plenty…

.

A little glimpse at the pleasant sunset that the train reflection was trying to ruin i had on the way from Salzburg to Innsbruck… plus my insanely perfect last-minute accommodation… thank you Innsbruck for not having decent Hostels! Call me soft… but this was what i needed for just a night. I didn’t even check out the town until the next day…

.

Eventually… The town

Innsbruck-3

.

The plan for the day… the position of my head here actually pin points my intended destination!

Innsbruck-4.

Innsbruck-6

Innsbruck-9

.

Where the real ascent begins… i’ll mention right now that i did not reach the following heights by my own two feet. Of course i’d usually grab any chance to trek upward to great views, but i wasn’t feeling it at all… the views will do just fine this time. Besides… the cable car option allowed more time for venturing about once up there without risk of passing out!

.

First Level: Where you can eat and drink where the birds fly… i’ll learn that too well later.

Innsbruck-13

Innsbruck-16

Innsbruck-17

.

Before heading further up by way of another cable car, i decided to explore this level more… so i followed a gravel path around a blind edge

.

My rewards…

Innsbruck-20

Innsbruck-26

Innsbruck-25

Innsbruck-28

.

As far as engineering will take you…

Innsbruck-32

…the last wee bit will be conquered with leg power (tactically i had all my reserves!)

Innsbruck-29

Innsbruck-31

.

From my perch on the edge of the highest point one can reach without climbing gear or a spectacular death wish…

Innsbruck-36

.

Innsbruck-41

.

Innsbruck-44

Innsbruck-46

Innsbruck-47

.

From whence I sat…

Innsbruck-48

.

Bacon and cheese dumplings with sauerkraut… and some tasty beer (lazily poured). Those damn birds would not quit at their attempts to steal it all from me… every mouthful of this hearty mountain feast had to be interrupted by my flailing intimidation tactics toward these pesky persistent peckers…

.

A combination of beer, dumplings, trekking, altitude(?) and a relentless mind…

Innsbruck-53

.

Back down with the rivers and trees…

Innsbruck-55

.

Innsbruck-58

.

Innsbruck-63

.

.

I sit here now, fairly content in a place i know well and continue to enjoy very much… seems a good city to end on. I’ll snap about and see if i can capture some different images from my last two visits. Circumstances and weather alone should influence that at least… feeling at home before home

.   .   .

Leave a comment